top of page
  • megansigler

Typographic Hierarchy

This article breaks down the meaning of typographic hierarchy and why it is so important to designers. According to the reading, "typographic hierarchy shows the reader which information to focus on—which is most important and which is simply supporting the main points." This can be accomplished through a number of techniques including, text size, color, weight, position, contrast, and case. By using these techniques, the reader is able to digest the information more efficiently by quickly determining the title and some basic context before getting into the body of the text. The website gave an example of this, as pictured below. This picture really helped me understand the high importance of typographic hierarchy and how it can change the viewers’ reading experience.

The information on this website will be very helpful in the completion of my website, especially in areas with a lot of text, such as my Artist Statement and Bio. I will be sure to consider this information when I am choosing the fonts and styles for my text.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page